Reckless Driving FAQ
  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Traffic Tickets Overview
  4.  » Reckless Driving FAQ

Get Answers To Your Questions About Reckless Driving Charges In Virginia

I am Robert T. Dearborn, a criminal defense attorney in Fairfax, Virginia. I provide each and every client I serve with skilled representation and straightforward answers. Following are some of the most common questions I receive from people facing reckless driving allegations in Virginia.

What Is Reckless Driving?

Under Virginia laws, reckless driving occurs when a person operates a motor vehicle in a manner that endangers others, fails to maintain control of a vehicle or fails to properly maintain crucial safety systems such as brakes. Reckless driving by speeding occurs when a driver exceeds the posted speed limit by 20 miles per hour or drives faster than 80 miles per hour regardless of the speed limit.

What Penalties Do I Face If Convicted Of Reckless Driving?

If convicted of reckless driving, you face criminal and administrative penalties which include:

  • Up to one year in jail
  • Up to six months driver’s license suspension
  • Six points on your Virginia driver’s license
  • Up to a $2,500 fine

In addition to the above penalties, you will also face increased insurance rates which will cost you a lot over time.

Do I Have To Appear In Court?

A reckless driving charge will necessitate a court appearance, but you don’t have to attend in person. If you hire a defense attorney to handle your case, he or she can appear on your behalf. This is good news for people concerned about having to miss work and especially helpful for out-of-state drivers.

Do I Need A Lawyer For A Reckless Driving Charge?

You have the option to represent yourself, but hiring a lawyer can save you significant time and expense in the long run. When you consider the fines, increased insurance rates, possible jail time and other penalties of a reckless driving conviction, hiring a lawyer to fight the charge may be the most cost-effective way of addressing the problem.

Talk To An Experienced Lawyer About Your Reckless Driving Charge

I am here to answer questions you have about your specific situation. To arrange a free initial consultation, contact my Fairfax law office by telephone at 703-350-4804 or online by filling out a brief contact form.