Take Legal Action When Accused Of Driving On A Suspended License
At the Robert T. Dearborn Law Office in Fairfax, we concentrate primarily on defending individuals charged with traffic violations. We have represented more than 5,000 people charged with driving offenses in Virginia, including speeding, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI), driving while intoxicated (DWI), reckless driving and driving following the suspension or revocation of a license.
Receiving a traffic citation or summons for driving on a suspended or revoked license is a misdemeanor offense that carries with it up to one year in jail and/or a $2,500 fine, as well as loss of your license with no possibility of a restricted operator’s license to drive to and from work or school.
For an experienced traffic law lawyer with the know-how to protect your rights, contact the Robert T. Dearborn Law Office. Phone us at 703-350-4804 or email for a free initial half-hour consultation.
Driving While Privileges Have Been Revoked Or Suspended
Virginia distinguishes between three offenses associated with driving a vehicle without a valid driver’s license:
- Driving without a valid operator’s license – This is a class 2 misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and a jail term of up to six months.
- Driving on a suspended license – This is a class 1 misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and a jail term of up to one year. In addition, this offense carries a loss of driving privileges for up to 90 days.
- Driving after the loss of license – This is a class 1 misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and a jail term of up to one year. In addition, this offense carries an additional loss of license for the same period the license was originally suspended.
If this is not your first time being charged with driving on a suspended license, driving without a valid operator’s license or another driving offense such as driving under the influence (DUI/DWI), be especially aware that many prosecutors in the commonwealth will seek jail time and additional loss of license. Many judges will also be inclined to mete out harsher sentences for second-time offenders.
Whether you are a first-time offender or have been arrested previously for a serious traffic violation, the help of a skilled traffic violations attorney who knows Virginia law and the courts can help. Contact the Robert T. Dearborn Law Office. Phone us at 703-350-4804 or email for a free initial half-hour consultation to discuss the specifics of your case.